About Us


Overview of Balaoan Water District

BALAOAN WATER DISTRICT  as it is known today, was originally known as the BALAOAN WATERWORKS SYSTEM during the period that its national counterpart or its office progenitor was the NATIONAL WATERWORKS AND SEWERAGE ADMINISTRATION (NAWASA). The Municipal Government of Balaoan (La Union) operated and managed the waterworks until the agency, by virtue of PD 198, otherwise known as the LOCAL WATER DISTRICT LAW, established the local water district and changed its name as it is today into BALAOAN WATER DISTRICT (BWD). That was on July 27, 1978 – the same date it was founded.

How it was founded.

On February 4, 1978, the Sangguniang Bayan of the Municipality of Balaoan, La Union, in compliance with PD 198,  passed Resolution No. 2, series of 1978, forming the Balaoan Water District (BWD). Following its formation, the BWD acquired ownership and management of the entire system in accordance with Title II of PD 198 known as the PROVINCIAL WATER UTILITIES ACT of 1973. On August 5, 1987, all the facilities of the defunct Balaoan Waterworks System was officially turned over to the district.

Like any other water district, the BWD was established for the purpose of acquiring, installing, improving, maintaining and operating the water supply system including the wastewater collection treatment and disposal facilities. To be able to perform these functions, the Balaoan Water District (BWD) obtained technical and financial assistance from the LOCAL WATER UTILITIES ADMINISTRATION (LWUA).

On July 28, 1978, the Conditional Certificate of Conformance (CCC) no, 059 was awarded to the district after it had complied with the minimum requirements for the certificate program. The certificate entitled the district to all the rights and privileges under PD 198.

On March 12, 1992, the Supreme Court declared that a water district is a Government Owned  or Controlled Corporation (GOCC) created pursuant to Presidential Decree No. 198, known as the Provincial Water Utilities Act of 1973, as amended, as such, its officers and employees should seek coverage under the Civil Service Laws & Regulations.

On October 16, 2006, the Balaoan Water District is one of the agencies identified for accreditation given by the Civil Service Commission (CSC), Regional Office I - an entitlement it had obtained resulting from the Pre-Accreditation Audit, a component of the Comprehensive Personnel Management Assessment (PCMA) conducted by the CSCROI shows that Balaoan Water District has satisfactory met all the requirements for the level II accreditation program under the virtue of the Civil Service Commission Resolution No. 061829 of the Civil Service Commission, Central Office, Diliman, Quezon City.

On December 13, 2013,  another monitoring team from the CSC Regional Office No.1conducted assessments in relation to the Comprehensive Human Resource Management Assistance, Review and Monitoring (CHARM) similar to what they assessed prior to October 16, 2006.  Result of the assessment reveals that the Balaoan Water District satisfactorily meets the requirements for the grant of Level II Accredited Status under the Program to Institutionalize Meritocracy and Excellence in Human Resource Management (PRIME-HRM).

The BWD Today.   

By the virtue of the REVISED MANNUAL or the LWD-MaCRO OF 2011, Balaoan Water District was categorized into  a “small water district” under Category “D” serving 1,225 concessionaires – or far from half the number of its potential concessionaires - covering 27 barangays, namely: Antonino, Ar-arampang,Baracbac Este, Baracbac Oeste, Bet-ang, Bungol, Bulbulala, Butubut Oeste, Butubut Sur, Cabua-an, Calungbuyan, Camilo Osias, Masupe, Nagsabaran Norte, Nagsabaran Sur, Nalasin, Napaset, Pagleddegan, Pantar Norte, Pantar Sur, Pa-o, Pagbennecan Pat-pata, Sablut, San Pablo, Tallipugo and Sinapangan Sur.

Back to top